Sierra Leone achieved independence on the 27th of April 1961. the country attained republican status on the 19th April 1971. Since independence many changes have been experienced politically and economically and in the social society of Sierra Leone.

The 90’s brought successive civil disturbances culminating into a ghastly RUF rebel war that led to the intervention of the International Community led by the United Nations Mission in Sierra Leone (UNAMSIL). Various international organisations helped provide an environment for free and fair presidential and parliamentary elections of 2002. The war has been officially over since 2002 and the process of rebuilding Sierra Leone and re-establishing its failed institutions is currently underway.

Since independence, Sierra Leone has been ruled by 9 Heads of State, at one time making history in the world, of having the youngest Head of State, Valentine Strasser aged 27 years. The SLPP administration of Alhaji Dr Ahmed Tejan Kabbah were voted out of power in what has widely being acclaimed as a free, fair and peaceful election in 2007. The current President is Ernest Bai Koroma of the APC party.